Currituck 4-H Awards Outstanding Accomplishments

— Written By and last updated by Donna Keene

Currituck County 4-H members, adult volunteers, parents and community supporters were recognized on Wednesday evening, February 5 at the Annual Currituck County 4-H Achievement Program. The speaker for the evening was a 4-H member from Camden County, Jonathan Gay. Jonathan, a District 4-H officer, brought greetings and announcements on behalf of the Northeast District 4-H Council. Also attending were Currituck Commissioners Butch Petrey and Marion Gilbert who assisted with the recognition ceremony.

The Trailblazers 4-H Club of Shawboro, under the leadership of Wendy Roberts was named the 4-H Club of the Year for 2013. The Tree Frogs 4-H Club and the Sharp Shooters 4-H Club both met the requirements to become 4-H groups and received their official charters.

Adult volunteers were recognized for outstanding service to the 4-H program. Special volunteer awards included:

  • School Enrichment Volunteer of the Year-Jennifer Roche, 2nd Grade Teacher at Knotts Island Elementary
  • At-Large Volunteer of the Year-Don Williams of Mainstay Construction
  • Teen Volunteer of the Year-Mitch Kreisel

Youth who earned achievements for club work, project record keeping and service in their community were recognized for their efforts. Project record books are compiled by 4-H’ers to record accomplishments they have made in a particular subject matter. The Best Project Book winners for 2013 were:


Jacob Stone-Best 9-10 Science & Technology

Abbigail Owens-Best 9-10 Consumer & Family Science and Best 9-10 Communication Arts


Ryan Boyer- Best 11-12 Animal Science and Best 11-12 Health & Fitness

Shalie Williams-Best 11-12 Plant Science

Jonathan Stone-Best 11-12 Science & Technology, Best 11-12 Environmental Science and Best 11-12 Communication Arts


Victoria Robey-Best 13-15 Animal Science and Best 13-15 Science & Technology

Mitch Kreisel-Best 13-15 Consumer & Family Science


Ridge Roberts-Best 16-18 Animal Science, Best 16-18 Science & Technology and Best 16-18 Environmental & Natural Resources

Outstanding 4-H Members of the year included:  9-10 year old-Abbigail Owens; 11-12 year old- Dalton Hauser; 13-15 year old- Mitch Kreisel; and 16-18 year old- Ridge Roberts.

Three 4-H members received their 4-H jacket, which can be earned by 4-H’ers through a point system for accomplishments made over a period of several years. Mitch Kreisel, Victoria Robey and Dalton Hauser were presented with their jackets.

Currituck County 4-H would like to thank everyone who contributed to a successful program year.

2013 4-H'ers of the YearOutstanding 4-H Members of the Year 2013 ~ Abbigail Owens, Dalton Hauser, Mitch Kreisel, and Randy Roberts with Commissioners Butch Petrey and Marion Gilbert

2013 4-H jackets

4-H Jacket Receipients ~ Dalton Hauser, Victoria Robey, and Mitch Kreisel with Commissioners Butch Petrey and Marion Gilbert

Written By

Ellen Owens, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionEllen OwensCounty Extension Director Call Ellen E-mail Ellen N.C. Cooperative Extension, Pasquotank County Center
Posted on Feb 13, 2014
Was the information on this page helpful? Yes check No close
Scannable QR Code to Access Electronic Version