4-H Achievement Night

— Written By and last updated by

Currituck County 4-H hosted its Annual 4-H Achievement Night and Leaders Recognition Celebration at Currituck County Extension on February 2nd. Achievement Night recognizes 4-H members for their outstanding accomplishments in Projects, Public Speaking, Leadership, Citizenship and Volunteerism. We also recognize our volunteers; thanking them for their hard work and commitment to Currituck County 4-H program.

The Currituck Sharp Shooters led by Ms. Kathy Melton was named the 2016 4-H Club of the year. Ms. Kathy Melton was also presented with the 4-H Club Volunteer of the Year Award for her outstanding leadership and dedication to Currituck County 4-H.

Ms Heather Campbell received the At Large Volunteer of the Year award recognizing her excellent service to multiple 4-H programs.

Youth were recognized for their achievements in public speaking and project knowledge, skills and record keeping. Youth awards were:

District and State Public Speaking Presentations: Tucker Melton, Gregory Dozier, Abbigail Owens, Alexis Berg, Makalob Fuller, Morgan Fuller, Ian Beatty, Willow Beatty, Sammy Shawgo, Cara King, Jayla King, Ashton Lowe, Cayden Lowe, Gabe Campbell, Elijah Campbell, Armani Rasco, Bela Williams and Carsyn Sawyer.

Project Records:

5-8 Year Cloverbud Superstars: Caleb Minton, Leah Hanke, Ellie Hanke,  Ayden White, Taylor Morgan, Hunter Zoeller, JeKeith Cowell, Billy Beasley, and Bela Williams.

9-10 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Cayden Lowe

Best Environmental Science: Sammy Shawgo

Best Science & Technology: Elijah Campbell

11-12 Year Old:

Best Communication Arts: Ashton Lowe

Best Science & Technology: Gabriel Campbell

Best Healthy Lifestyles: Armani Rascoe

13-15 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Shyanne McLeod

Outstanding 4-H Members of the Year were selected for the overall level of excellence in their 2016 4-H program work. This year’s 4-Hers of the year were: 9-10 Elijah Campbell; 11-12 Armani Rascoe and Gabriel Campbell and 13-15 Tucker Melton.

Gregory Dozier was recognized for commitment and service to the 4-H Program and our community and was this years “Teen Volunteer of the Year”.

Congratulations to all of our award winners. It was a great evening of celebration and recognition of 4-H making the best better.

Youth interested in joining 4-H or adults interesting in volunteering to share any knowledge or skills with youth should contact the 4-H Agent, Sherry Fischlschweiger at the Currituck Extension Center; 252-232-2261, or Sherry_Fischlschweiger@ncsu.edu.

youth award winners award recipients