4-H Achievement Night and Leaders Recognition Celebration

— Written By and last updated by Stacy Hairfield

Currituck County 4-H hosted its Annual 4-H Achievement Night and Leaders Recognition Celebration at Currituck County Extension on January 25th, 2018. Achievement Night recognizes 4-H members for their outstanding accomplishments in Projects, Public Speaking, Leadership, Citizenship and Volunteerism. We also recognize our volunteers; thanking them for their hard work and commitment to the Currituck County 4-H program.

Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service were presented to the following:

Ms Heather Campbell received the 4-H Club Leader of the Year; recognizing her outstanding leadership and service to the 4-H program. Heather is the leader of the SteamPunks STEM Club and the RoboRapters Robotics Club.

The Currituck Sharp Shooters, led by Ms. Kathy Melton, was named the 2017 4-H Club of the year.

Youth were recognized for their achievements in public speaking, project knowledge, skills and record keeping, and volunteerism. Youth awards were:

District and State Public Speaking Presentations: Tucker Melton, Gregory Dozier, Abbigail Owens, Alexis Berg, Sammy Shawgo,  Riley Newsham, Ayden Berry, Ashton Lowe, Cayden Lowe, Gabe Campbell, Elijah Campbell, Armani Rasco, Bela Williams, Billy Grant-Beasley, Alliyah Kato, Carsyn Sawyer and Jackson Surbaugh.

Project Record Books are records of accomplishments compiled by 4-H’ers to record concepts learned in a particular subject matter.

The Best Project Book winners for 2017 were:

Cloverbud Superstars (5-8 yr old): Bella Vaughn, Amanda Jennings, Avrie Cahoon, Hunter Zoeller, Caleb Minton, Ayden White, JeKeith Cowell, and Karleigh Meads.

9-10 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Elijah Campbell

Best Healthy Lifestyles: Sammy Shawgo

Best Citizenship: Elijah Campbell

Best Science & Technology: Billy Grant-Beasley

11-12 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Ava Crow

13-15 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Shyanne McLeod

Best Citizenship: Gabriel Campbell

Best Science & Technology: Gabriel Campbell

16-18 Year Old:

Best Animal Science: Jordan Starcher

Best Leadership & Personal Development: Tucker Melton

Outstanding 4-H Members of the Year were selected for the overall level of excellence in their 2017 4-H program work. This year’s 4-Hers of the year were: 9-10 Elijah Campbell; 11-12 Caydon Lowe; 13-15 Gregory Dozier and 16-18 Tucker Melton.

Tucker Melton was also awarded his 4-H Jacket for his outstanding accomplishments in the 4-H program.

Outstanding Teen Volunteer of the Year: Joshua Key.

Congratulations to all of our award winners. It was a great evening of celebration and recognition of 4-H making the best better.

4-H is North Carolina’s largest youth development organization, equipping more than 247,000 young people each year with the skills to succeed and improve the world around them. 4-H programs and camps encourage young people to “learn by doing,” helping them to develop into active, contributing citizens. NC State Extension and the Cooperative Extension Program at N.C. A&T State University coordinate 4-H programs statewide.

NC State University and N.C. A&T State University commit themselves to positive action to secure equal opportunity regardless of race, color, national origin, religion, political beliefs, family and marital status, sex, age, veteran status, sexual identity, genetic information or disability. NC State, N.C. A&T, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and local governments cooperating.